Lions Bridge and Roman Bridge of Arena

Built in 1842 on the remains of the roman bridge of Arena (one of its arches is still visible at one end of the present-day bridge) for the opening of Via Ferdinandea, now Via Vittorio Emanuele II, the Lions Bridge is made up of three arches with granite abutments. On its sides four marble lions, work of the sculptor Tantardini, watch over the monumental bridge. Two footpaths follow the river Lambro, leading to the areas that were once occupied by mills for grinding wheat, irrigation ditches and washhouses. The typical and picturesque houses with communal long balconies are a testimony of this ancient area.